Central Karoo District Municipality (DC5)

Geography, History and Economy

Central Karoo District Municipality comprises:

    MDB code: DC5

    Description: The Central Karoo District Municipality is a Category C municipality located in the Western Cape Province. It is bordered by the Pixley Ka Seme District Municipality in the north, Namakwa District Municipality in the north-west, Eden District Municipality in the south, Sarah Baartman District Municipality in the east and Cape Winelands District Municipality in the west.
    ‚ÄÉCentral Karoo is the largest district in the province, making up a third of its geographical area. It is comprised of three local municipalities: Laingsburg, Prince Albert and Beaufort West. The seat of the district is Beaufort West.

    Area: 38 854km²

    Cities/Towns: Beaufort West, Klaarstroom, Laingsburg, Leeu Gamka, Matjiesfontein, Merweville, Murraysburg, Nelspoort, Prince Albert, Welgemoed

    Main Economic Sectors: Agriculture (47%), finance and business services (22%), community services (19%), construction (7%)

    The information in this directory is compiled from various sources and is subject to continual change. If you notice any errors or omissions, please contact us so that we can correct them.