Cape Winelands District Municipality (DC2)

Geography, History and Economy

Cape Winelands District Municipality comprises:

    MDB code: DC2

    Description: The Cape Winelands District Municipality (CWDM) is a Category C municipality situated in the Western Cape Province next to the Cape Metropolitan area. It was formerly known as the Boland District Municipality.
     CWDM is a landlocked area in between the West Coast and Overberg coastal districts. The district includes five local municipalities, namely: Drakenstein, Stellenbosch, Witzenberg, Breede Valley and Langeberg.
     The area is one of the 'pearls' of South Africa's rural and small-town subregions, but disparate with a relatively high and diverse level of development. It’s a superb wine-producing area, and indeed the best known in South Africa. The magnificent mountain ranges around Stellenbosch and Franschhoek provide ideal microclimates for the vines.

    Area: 21 473km²

    Cities/Towns: Ashton, Bonnievale, Ceres, De Doorns, Die Dorp Op Die Berg, Franschhoek, Gouda, Klapmuts, McGregor, Montagu, Paarl, Pniel, Prince Alfred Hamlet, Rawsonville, Robertson, Saron, Stellenbosch, Stellenbosch Farms, Touws River, Tulbagh, Wellington, Wolseley, Worcester

    Main Economic Sectors: Finance and business services (23.9%), manufacturing (19.6%), wholesale and retail trade (15.2%), agriculture, forestry and fishing (13.1%), transport and communication (9%), construction (4.5%)

    The information in this directory is compiled from various sources and is subject to continual change. If you notice any errors or omissions, please contact us so that we can correct them.