Bojanala Platinum District Municipality (DC37)

Geography, History and Economy

Bojanala Platinum District Municipality comprises:

    MDB code: DC37

    Description: The Bojanala Platinum District Municipality is a Category C municipality situated in the North West Province. It is bordered by the Waterberg District Municipality to the north, Dr Kenneth Kaunda District Municipality to the south, City of Tshwane Metro to the east, West Rand District Municipality to the south-east, and Ngaka Modiri Molema District Municipality to the west.
     It is one of four district municipalities in the province and comprises five local municipalities: Kgetlengrivier, Madibeng, Moses Kotane, Moretele and Rustenburg. The seat of Bojanala Platinum is Rustenburg.

    Area: 18 333km²

    Cities/Towns: Brits, Derby, Hartbeesfontein-A, Hartbeespoort, Koster, Madikwe, Marikana, Mooinooi, Phatsima, Rustenburg, Swartruggens, Tlhabane

    Main Economic Sectors: Mining (30-35%), community services (15-20%), finance (10-15%), trade (10-15%), transport (5-10%), manufacturing (5-10%)

    The information in this directory is compiled from various sources and is subject to continual change. If you notice any errors or omissions, please contact us so that we can correct them.