Nkangala District Municipality (DC31)

Geography, History and Economy

Nkangala District Municipality comprises:

    MDB code: DC31

    Description: The Nkangala District Municipality is a Category C municipality in the Mpumalanga Province. It is the smallest district of the three in the province, making up 22% of its geographical area. It is comprised of six local municipalities: Victor Khanye, Emalahleni, Steve Tshwete, Emakhazeni, Thembisile Hani, and Dr JS Moroka. The district's headquarters are in Middelburg.
     Nkangala is at the economic hub of Mpumalanga, and is rich in minerals and natural resources. A strength of the district is the Maputo Corridor, which brings increased potential for economic growth and tourism development.
     The proximity to Gauteng opens up opportunities to a larger market, which is of benefit to the district's agricultural and manufacturing sectors. The further potential inherent in exporting goods provides opportunities that need to be investigated.

    Area: 16 758km²

    Cities/Towns: Delmas, Dullstroom, Emgwenya (previously Waterval Boven), Hendrina, Kriel, KwaMhlanga, Mdala Nature Reserve, Middelburg, Ogies, Phola, Pullens Hope, Rietkuil, eMakhazeni, eMalahleni, eNtokozweni (previously Machadodorp)

    Main Economic Sectors: Mining, manufacturing, energy, agriculture

    The information in this directory is compiled from various sources and is subject to continual change. If you notice any errors or omissions, please contact us so that we can correct them.