Gert Sibande District Municipality (DC30)

Geography, History and Economy

Gert Sibande District Municipality comprises:

    MDB code: DC30

    Description: The Gert Sibande District Municipality is a Category C municipality located in the Mpumalanga Province. It is bordered by the Ehlanzeni and Nkangala District Municipalities to the north, KwaZulu-Natal and the Free State to the south, Swaziland to the east, and Gauteng to the west.
     The district is the largest of the three districts in the province, making up almost half of its geographical area. It is comprised of seven local municipalities: Govan Mbeki, Chief Albert Luthuli, Msukaligwa, Dipaleseng, Mkhondo, Lekwa and Dr Pixley ka Isaka Seme.
     Highways that pass through Gert Sibande District Municipality include the N11, which goes through to the N2 in KwaZulu-Natal, the N17 from Gauteng passing through to Swaziland, and the N3 from Gauteng to KwaZulu-Natal.

    Area: 31 841km²

    Cities/Towns: Amersfoort, Amsterdam, Balfour, Bethal, Breyten, Carolina, Charl Cilliers, Chrissiesmeer, Davel, Ekulindeni, Embalenhle, Empuluzi, Ermelo, Evander, Greylingstad, Grootvlei, Kinross, Leandra, Lothair, Morgenzon, Perdekop, Secunda, Standerton, Trichardt, Volksrust, Wakkerstroom, eManzana, eMkhondo (previously Piet Retief)

    Main Economic Sectors: Manufacturing (35%), mining (14.1%), community services (12.3%), finance (11.5%), trade (9.6%), transport (7.3%), agriculture (4.7%), construction (2.1%)

    The information in this directory is compiled from various sources and is subject to continual change. If you notice any errors or omissions, please contact us so that we can correct them.