Amathole District Municipality (DC12)

Geography, History and Economy

Amathole District Municipality comprises:

    MDB code: DC12

    Description: The Amathole District Municipality is a Category C municipality situated in the central part of the Eastern Cape. It stretches along the Sunshine Coast from the Fish River Mouth and along the Eastern Seaboard to just south of Hole in the Wall along the Wild Coast. It is bordered to the north by the Amathole Mountain Range. The municipality is comprised of six local municipalities: Mbhashe, Mnquma, Great Kei, Amahlathi, Ngqushwa and Raymond Mhlaba.
     Four heritage routes have been developed that are named after Xhosa kings and heroes. They are the Maqoma Route, the Makana Route, the Sandile Route and the Phalo Route. These intertwine with the other tourism routes located within the district, namely the Sunshine Coast Route, the Wild Coast Route, the Amathole Mountain Escape Route and the Friendly N6 Route.

    Area: 21 595km²

    Cities/Towns: Adelaide, Alice, Amatola Coastal, Bedford, Butterworth, Cathcart, Dutywa, Elliotdale, Fort Beaufort, Hamburg, Hogsback, Kei Mouth, Kei Road, Keiskammahoek, Kentani, Komga, Middeldrift, Morgan Bay, Ngqamakhwe, Peddie, Seymore, Stutterheim, Willowvale

    Main Economic Sectors: Community services (44%), finance (19%), manufacturing (14%), trade (13%), transport (4%), agriculture (3%), construction (2%)

    The information in this directory is compiled from various sources and is subject to continual change. If you notice any errors or omissions, please contact us so that we can correct them.