Dawid Kruiper Local Municipality (NC087)

Dawid Kruiper Local Municipality was established by the amalgamation of Mier Local Municipality and //Khara Hais Local Municipality on 3 August 2016. Financial, Employment and Service Delivery information is not yet available for the new municipality. View historical information for Mier Local Municipality and //Khara Hais Local Municipality.


    Contact Details

    Postal: PO Box 178, Mier, 8811
    Physical: 63 Loubosweg, Mier
    Tel: 054 531 0019
    Fax: 054 531 0019
    Web: http://dkm.gov.za

    Geography, History and Economy

    Area: 44 231km²
    Description: The Dawid Kruiper Local Municipality is a Category B municipality that forms part of the ZF Mgcawu District in the Northern Cape. It borders with the Kgalagadi Transfrontier Park in the north, Botswana in the north-east, and Namibia in the west. It is the largest of five municipalities in the district, making up almost half its geographical area.
     It was established by the amalgamation of the Mier and //Khara Hais Local Municipalities in August 2016. It consists of small towns and the !Khomani San community within its jurisdiction. Rietfontein, which is one of the main towns, is situated approximately 280km north-west from the nearest big town of Upington.
     Upington is situated 400km west of Kimberley, and has an airport and a landing strip. Natural boundaries provide a unique aspect to the town – one is the Kalahari Desert and another is the Orange River, South Africa's largest river, which it straddles.
     The municipality is the acknowledged commercial, educational, military, agricultural, medical, transport and tourism centre of the area.

    Cities/Towns: Mier, Rietfontein, Upington
    Main Economic Sectors: Agriculture, business services, game farming, tourism and hospitality, manufacturing, transport, community services, social and personal services
  • MAP


    Political Management

    Composition of Council: ANC 18, DA 10, COPE 1, EFF 1, VF PLUS 1
    Controlling Party: ANC
    Mayor: Mr Abraham Vosloo
    Other Members of Council: Moses Moalusi (Speaker)

    Administrative Management

    Municipal Manager: Mr Elias Ntoba
    Population 107 161100 498
    Age Structure
    Population under 15 28.6%30.0%
    Population 15 to 64 65.8%64.4%
    Population over 65 5.6%5.7%
    Dependency Ratio
    Per 100 (15-64) 52.155.3
    Sex Ratio
    Males per 100 females 97.297.6
    Population Growth
    Per annum 1.46%n/a
    Labour Market
    Unemployment rate (official) n/an/a
    Youth unemployment rate (official) 15-34 n/an/a
    Education (aged 20 +)
    No schooling 4.5%7.1%
    Matric 31.8%24.9%
    Higher education 6.4%7.3%
    Household Dynamics
    Households 28 70425 028
    Average household size 3.73.8
    Female headed households 40.2%39.7%
    Formal dwellings 69.7%76.3%
    Housing owned 73.7%54.3%
    Household Services
    Flush toilet connected to sewerage 64.5%66.3%
    Weekly refuse removal 80.9%84.6%
    Piped water inside dwelling 50.4%54.4%
    Electricity for lighting 88.0%89.9%

    Note: For information on methodology, sources and definitions please see Sources.

The information in this directory is supplied and/or externally sourced and is also subject to continual change. If you notice any errors or omissions, please contact us at info@municipalities.co.za so that we can correct them.